希望的故事

塔米卡,组织接受者

当塔米卡得知自己罹患乳腺癌的消息时,她从向他人敞开心扉所获得的支持中找到了战胜病魔的力量。死者捐献的组织使塔米卡在双乳切除术后得以痊愈,并激励她通过鼓励少数民族社区成员谈论健康问题和从爱中汲取力量来回馈社会。

塔米卡(Tamika)在远离家人和朋友千里之外的一个新城市刚开始新的工作,就发现自己的乳房有肿块。当时年仅 36 岁的塔米卡活泼好动、注重健康,她一直在苦苦思索如何面对乳腺癌的诊断。塔米卡一直是别人的依靠,并以自己能够掌控一切为荣,她的第一反应是保持沉默,独自战斗,但癌症迫使她重新评估自己的生活态度。起初,她只向几位好友敞开心扉,然后她继续前进。塔米卡开始与任何愿意倾听的人交谈,她经历了康复之旅的每一个阶段--包括接受已故捐赠者的组织作为乳房的一部分
作为双乳切除术后乳房重建手术的一部分,她接受了已故捐赠者的组织。

塔米卡的捐赠者的无私之举在她的内心播下了爱的种子,并激励她希望在他人身上播下爱的种子,希望他们也能传播爱。如今,她活跃在社区中,她知道社区中的妇女正在遭受乳腺癌和其他健康问题的折磨,她认为需要打破这种沉默。

"妇女受到伤害,需要帮助,但她们却不愿寻求帮助。我的组织捐献者的礼物激励着我去分享我的观点,并为其他妇女提供帮助,"塔米卡说,"这确实是一份不断给予的礼物。

Stories of Hope

See how organ, eye and tissue donation has healed lives.

Tamika, tissue recipient

Tamika’s Tissue Transplant Journey

When Tamika received the news that she had breast cancer, she found the power to beat her illness from the support she received by opening up to others. Deceased donor tissue enabled Tamika to heal after her double mastectomy — and inspired her to give back by encouraging members of minority communities to talk about health issues and draw strength from love.

Thousands of miles away from family and friends, Tamika had just begun a new job in a new city when she found a lump in her breast. Active, health conscious and just 36 years old at the time, Tamika grappled with how to cope with her breast cancer diagnosis. Always the person others relied upon and priding herself on being in control, Tamika’s first instinct was to keep it to herself and fight her battle alone, but cancer forced her to reevaluate her approach to life. Initially, she opened up to a few close friends, then she kept on going. Tamika began talking to anyone who would listen as she went through every phase of her journey to recovery — including receiving
deceased donor tissue as part of her breast reconstruction surgery post double mastectomy.

The selfless act of Tamika’s donor planted seeds of love within her and inspired her to want to plant seeds of love in others with the hope that they will spread love, too. Today, she is active within her community, where she knows women are suffering with breast cancer and other health issues in a silence that she feels needs to be broken.

“Women are hurting and need help that they are reluctant to seek. My tissue donor’s gift energized me to share my perspective and give to other women,” said Tamika adding, “It truly is a gift that keeps on giving.”

Registration takes less than a minute.

Still have questions?

Be socially responsible

95% of Americans are in favor of being a donor but only 58% are registered.
Help bridge the gap by sharing.