希望的故事

苏珊,活体肾脏捐献者

苏珊的活体捐赠之旅

肾脏捐献者苏珊一直致力于帮助他人,并在个人和职业领域为世界带来积极的变化。一开始,苏珊只是为了一个工作项目而了解活体器官捐献,但很快,她就有了更多的想法:她想通过自己成为活体器官捐献者来治愈一个生命。最终,她有机会实现自己的愿望,向一位素不相识的女士捐献了肾脏。如今,活体捐献的礼物将两人永远联系在了一起。

苏珊是一家广告公司的高管,当她开始考虑捐献时,她正在为一家器官移植医院撰写文章。在与一些活体器官捐献者和接受者交谈后,她被他们改变生命的故事深深打动。苏珊尤其被她遇到的非定向捐献者的经历所打动,她不得不更多地了解在没有预期受捐者的情况下捐献肾脏的过程。她原以为自己已经 60 多岁了,不可能成为活体捐献者。当苏珊高兴地发现自己的年龄并不是活体肾脏捐献的障碍时,她立即预约了时间,并在下周开始了评估过程。

长达五个月的评估旅程结束后,苏珊获得了活体捐献的医学许可,她确信自己在身体、精神和情感上都具备了捐献的条件。在此期间,她只与直系亲属和她的四位跑友谈及她的活体捐献希望。在评估的许多步骤中,他们给了她精神上的鼓舞,苏珊最终决定在获准成为活体捐献者后,立即通过博客与更多人分享她的故事。

"我的目标是鼓励其他人也考虑捐赠,"苏珊说。"写作这一行为也有助于巩固我的捐赠愿望,并消除我可能存在的任何挥之不去的恐惧或担忧。它还起到了号召作用。在手术当天,我有一大群朋友、同事和跑步爱好者支持我。

在获得捐献许可仅一个月后,苏珊就与需要肾移植的朱莉配型成功。手术对捐赠者和受捐者来说都很成功。几天后,朱莉就恢复了健康,而苏珊则踏上了回家的路,走遍了她家附近的街区。手术几个月后,两位女士决定见面,并开始建立起一种持久的联系。

活体捐献者的生活

虽然苏珊在捐肾后恢复了正常生活,但她觉得自己的 "正常 "已经永远改变了--而且是好的改变。她鼓励任何正在考虑活体捐献的人探索自己的选择,并考虑其益处和风险,以便做出深思熟虑、知情的决定。对苏珊来说,这个决定是她做出的最有价值的选择之一。

"虽然听起来很奇怪,但从头到尾都是一次美妙的经历,"苏珊分享道。"捐献器官确实能改变人的一生--对受者捐献者都是如此。

Stories of Hope

See how organ, eye and tissue donation has healed lives.

Susan, living kidney donor

Susan’s living donation journey

Kidney donor Susan has always been motivated to help others and make positive changes in the world, both personally and professionally. What began with learning about living donation for a work project, quickly grew into something much more for Susan: she wanted to heal a life by becoming a living organ donor herself. She eventually got her chance to fulfill that wish when she donated a kidney to a woman whom she had never met. Today, the two are forever linked by the gift of living donation.

Susan, an advertising agency executive, was working on a writing assignment for a transplant hospital when she started considering donation. After speaking with a number of living organ donors and recipients, she was profoundly touched by their lifechanging stories. Susan was especially moved by the experiences of the non-directed donors she met and was compelled to learn more about the process of donating a kidney, without an intended recipient in mind. She had assumed that, in her 60s, she was probably too old to be a living donor. When Susan made the happy discovery that her age was not a barrier to living kidney donation, she wasted no time and scheduled an appointment to begin the assessment process the following week.

When the five-month-long evaluation journey was completed, and she was medically cleared to be a living donor, Susan felt confident that she was physically, mentally and emotionally in good shape to donate. During that time, she only spoke of her living donation hopes with her immediate family and her four running buddies. Buoyed by the lift they gave her spirits during the many steps of her assessment, Susan eventually decided to share her story with a larger audience through a blog as soon as she was approved to be a living donor.

“My goal was to encourage other people to consider donating as well,” Susan said. “The act of writing also helped solidify my desire to donate, and to resolve any lingering fears or concerns that I may have had. It also served to rally the troops. By the date of my surgery, I had a large group of friends, colleagues and my running community there supporting me.”

Just one month after being cleared for donation, Susan was matched with Julie, a woman in need of a kidney transplant. The surgery was a success for both donor and recipient. In a matter of days, Julie was on the road to better health, and Susan was literally on the road back home, walking all over her neighborhood. Several months after the operation, the two women decided to meet, and began forming what has since become a lasting bond.

Life as a living donor

Although Susan has resumed normal life after her kidney donation, she feels that her “normal” has been forever changed — in a good way. She encourages anyone who is thinking about living donation to explore their options, and to consider both the benefits and risks in order to make a thoughtful, informed decision. For Susan, that decision ended up being one of the most rewarding choices she has ever made.

“As strange as this sounds, it was a wonderful experience from start to finish,” Susan shared. “Donating an organ is truly lifechanging — for both the recipient and the donor.”

Registration takes less than a minute.

Still have questions?

Be socially responsible

95% of Americans are in favor of being a donor but only 58% are registered.
Help bridge the gap by sharing.