希望的故事

理查德,活体肾脏捐献者

理查德第一次得知一位名叫克里斯的兄弟会成员急需肾脏时,他正在阅读一篇博客文章。理查德对活体捐献一无所知,也从未见过克里斯,但他迈出了第一步,看看自己是否与克里斯匹配,并最终挽救了克里斯的生命。

理查德今年 32 岁,与两个年幼的女儿和女友艾丽西亚居住在犹他州,当他看到一位共济会博友为 26 岁的兄弟会成员克里斯寻求活体肾脏捐献者的呼吁时,他决定为克里斯捐献肾脏。克里斯一生中大部分时间都在与青少年糖尿病作斗争,而且他正在失去战斗力。克里斯依靠每周三次的透析治疗,已进入肾衰竭晚期。

共济会将品行端正、共同信奉上帝之父和人类兄弟情谊的人团结在一起。理查德一直努力恪守共济会的兄弟之爱、救济和真理原则。关心他人和帮助身处困境的人是理查德的生活方式。尽管克里斯住在华盛顿特区的另一个国家,理查德也从未见过他,但他觉得自己必须帮助这个还有很多事情要做的年轻人。

四个月后,理查德经过治疗,认为自己的肾脏与克里斯的肾脏相匹配,于是他飞往华盛顿特区,将自己的一个肾脏捐献给克里斯。手术很成功,两人很快就恢复了健康。克里斯的健康意味着他可以继续工作和读研究生,追求自己的梦想。理查德回到了犹他州的生活,虽然少了一个肾脏,但却多了一个他视为家人的新朋友。

当被问及从活体捐献经历中学到了什么时,理查德有很多话要分享。"我学到了所有关于恩典的东西。我懂得了,为了丰富我们的生活,让我们自己变得更好,我们需要采取措施为我们周围的人提供服务。理查德补充说:"做一个好人"。

Stories of Hope

See how organ, eye and tissue donation has healed lives.

Richard, living kidney donor

Richard had been reading a blog post when he first learned that a fraternity brother named Chris was in dire need of a kidney. Knowing nothing about living donation and having never met Chris, Richard took the first steps toward seeing if he was a match and, ultimately, saving Chris’s life.

Richard was 32 and residing in Utah with his two young daughters and his girlfriend Alicia, when he came across a fellow Freemason blogger’s appeal seeking a living kidney donor for Chris, a 26-year-old fraternity brother. Chris had been battling juvenile diabetes for most of his life, and he was losing the fight. Relying upon dialysis treatments three times a week, Chris was in end-stage renal failure.

Freemasonry unites men of good character who share a belief in the fatherhood of God and the brotherhood of mankind. Richard has always strived to abide by Freemasonry’s principles of brotherly love, relief and truth. Caring for others and aiding those in distress was Richard’s way of life. Despite the fact that Chris lived across the country in Washington, D.C., and that Richard had never laid eyes on him, he felt compelled to help the young man who had so much more living to do.

Four months later, after being worked up and deemed a match, Richard flew to D.C. to donate one of his kidneys to Chris. The surgery was a success, and both men were soon back on their feet. Chris’s good health meant that he could continuing working and attending graduate school to pursue his dreams. Richard returned to his life in Utah with one less kidney, but with a new friend for life whom he thinks of as family.

When asked what he has learned from his living donor experience, Richard has a great deal to share. “I learned all about grace. I learned that in order to enrich our lives and better ourselves, we need to take steps to be of service to those around us. The deep warmth I feel in my soul is the direct result of putting another human’s needs before my own,” said Richard adding, “Be the good.”

Registration takes less than a minute.

Still have questions?

Be socially responsible

95% of Americans are in favor of being a donor but only 58% are registered.
Help bridge the gap by sharing.