希望的故事

帕特里斯,角膜接受者

帕特里斯的角膜移植之旅

角膜接受者帕特里斯第一次出现视力问题是在一年级后的暑假。在一次野营活动中,一位家庭朋友发现柏翠丝在阳光下总是闭着左眼。帕特里斯的父母从此开始了长达数年的努力,以确定导致她左眼失明的严重眼疾的原因。她最终被诊断出患有单纯疱疹 1 型,这是一种影响角膜的疾病,可导致视力下降和失明。抗病毒药物阻止了病毒的生长,但对她的左眼造成了不可逆转的伤害,使她的视力只有 20/400,视力严重受损。角膜移植是帕特里斯最大的希望。

帕特里斯的移植手术得益于一位角膜捐献者的慷慨捐赠。她立即感受到了捐赠者礼物的深远影响,恢复视力后的 Patrice 满怀感激之情,38 年来从未减退。

角膜接受者的生活

能够看到生活中的细节意味着 Patrice 能够领略到许多她本会错过的东西。自从接受角膜移植手术后,她就能看到孩子们的笑容,充分体验到做母亲的乐趣。热爱大自然的 Patrice 经常去海滩和山区旅行,有幸目睹了日出日落,她感到非常幸运。在家里,她打理着自己的菜园和花圃,包括为纪念她失去的亲人而种植的 "记忆 "花圃。每年春天,看到这些特别的花朵绽放,帕特里斯都会感到无比欣慰--如果没有她的捐赠者,这一切是不可能实现的。

帕特里斯认识到器官、眼球和组织捐献的重要性,鼓励大家登记成为捐献者。她不会将重见光明的一刻视为理所当然,她将永远感激她的捐赠者及其家人的慷慨解囊,是他们让这一切成为可能。

"帕特里斯说:"当我第一眼看到我的孩子时,我想到了我的捐献者和捐献者家庭;当我最后一次见到我的母亲并与她吻别时,我想到了他们。"我想到了他们,并感谢他们给了我快乐,让我能以清晰的双眼经历这些时刻。

Stories of Hope

See how organ, eye and tissue donation has healed lives.

Patrice, cornea recipient

Patrice’s corneal transplant journey

Cornea recipient Patrice first began experiencing trouble with her eyesight during the summer after first grade. While on a camping trip, a family friend noticed that Patrice kept closing her left eye whenever she was in the sunlight. This began what was to be a years-long effort by Patrice’s parents to determine the cause of a serious eye problem causing her to lose vision in that eye. She was eventually diagnosed with Herpes Simplex 1, a condition affecting the cornea that can cause vision loss and blindness. Antiviral medication stopped the growth of the virus, but irreversible damage had been done to her left eye, leaving her with 20/400 vision, and severe visual impairment. A corneal transplant was Patrice’s best hope.

Patrice received her transplant thanks to the generosity of a cornea donor. She felt the profound impact of her donor’s gift immediately, and her restored eyesight filled Patrice with a sense of gratitude that has not waned for 38 years and counting.

Life as a cornea recipient

Being able to see the details of life has meant that Patrice has been able to take in so much that she would have missed otherwise. Since her corneal transplant, she has been able to see her children smile and fully experience the joys of motherhood. A nature lover, Patrice often travels to beaches and mountains, counting her blessings as she witnesses all of the sunrises and sunsets that she has the privilege to see. At home, she tends her vegetable and flower gardens, including the “memory” flower gardens she has planted in honor of loved ones she has lost. Patrice finds great comfort in seeing those special flowers bloom each spring — something that would not have been possible without her donor.

Recognizing the importance of organ, eye and tissue donation, Patrice encourages everyone to register as donors. She does not take one moment of being able to see again for granted, and she will be forever appreciative of the generosity of her donor and their family who made it all possible.

“I thought about my donor and donor family the first time I laid eyes on my children, and I thought of them the last time I saw my mother and kissed her goodbye,” said Patrice. “I thought of them and thanked them for giving me the joy of experiencing those moments with clear eyes.”

Registration takes less than a minute.

Still have questions?

Share the #DonateLife Message

You can help save and heal lives by registering to be an organ, eye and tissue donor.
 Share your decision with your community!