希望的故事

Makenzie, 组织接受者

组织接受者 - Makenzie(玫瑰花车游行)

Makenzie 在高中一年级时因运动受伤导致前十字韧带撕裂,从此疼痛难忍,严重影响了她在赛场内外的生活。捐赠的组织使她能够坚持积极健康的生活方式,实现成为曲棍球队队长的梦想。

捐献组织帮助梅肯兹恢复积极的生活方式

锻炼身体和保持健康一直是 Makenzie 的两大爱好。作为一名天生的运动员,Makenzie 在高中一年级时就入选了曲棍球队和垒球队。不参加有组织的体育运动时,Makenzie 会以其他方式积极参与:跑步、徒步旅行、游泳、参加学校俱乐部活动、与朋友们一起玩耍以及与父母和哥哥共度美好时光。她从未想象过没有体育的生活,但一切即将改变。

Makenzie 当时 14 岁,刚刚结束她的第一次 5 公里赛跑,膝盖就发生了过度伸展。由于最初的酸痛似乎并不意味着严重受伤,Makenzie 在接下来的几个月里继续定期参加运动和锻炼。但她很快发现,无论在运动场上还是运动场下,只要她一动,就会感到剧烈疼痛。医生在她大二时为她进行了探查手术,结果令人震惊:Makenzie 的前十字韧带有 98% 撕裂。由于一位捐赠者的捐赠,她的医生能够立即为她进行组织移植,帮助 Makenzie 重新开始全面参与生活。

捐献的组织让 Makenzie 恢复了她热爱的健康生活方式,并继续在体育运动中取得优异成绩。Makenzie 不仅再次参加了曲棍球比赛,还实现了成为球队队长的伟大梦想。Makenzie 珍视捐赠者的礼物,认为这是她收到的最珍贵的礼物。她知道,如果没有这份礼物,她的人生将完全不同,她每天都在努力向给予她机会让她活出精彩人生的人致敬。

Stories of Hope

See how organ, eye and tissue donation has healed lives.

Makenzie, tissue recipient

An ACL tear from a sports injury during her freshman year of high school left Makenzie in constant pain, and severely impacted her life both on and off the playing field. Donated tissue made it possible for her to stay dedicated to her active, healthy lifestyle and to achieve her dream of becoming captain of her field hockey team.

Tissue Recipient - Makenzie (Field Hockey)Tissue Recipient - Makenzie (Rose Parade)

Donor Tissue Helps Makenzie Resume Active Lifestyle

Working out and staying healthy have always been two of Makenzie’s passions. A natural athlete, Makenzie made both the field hockey and softball teams her freshman year of high school. When she was not playing organized sports, Makenzie was active in other ways: running, hiking, swimming, participating in school clubs, hanging out with friends and spending quality time with her parents and older brother. She never imagined a life without sports, but everything was about to change.

Makenzie was 14 years old and just finishing her first 5k race when she hyperextended her knee. Because the initial soreness she experienced did not seem to indicate a serious injury, Makenzie continued to play sports and work out regularly over the next few months. She soon found, however, that a terrible pain developed that was constantly there whenever she was moving — on or off the playing field. Her doctor performed exploratory surgery during her sophomore year with shocking results: Makenzie’s ACL was 98% torn. Because of a donor’s gift, her doctor was able to immediately perform a tissue transplant to help Makenzie begin her return to fully participating in life again.

Donor tissue made it possible for Makenzie to resume the healthy lifestyle that she loves and to continue to excel in sports. Not only did Makenzie play field hockey again, she also achieved her big dream of becoming team captain. Makenzie treasures her donor’s gift as the greatest she has ever received. Without it, she knows that her life would never have been same, and she strives each day to honor the person who gave her the opportunity to live her life to the fullest.

Registration takes less than a minute.

Still have questions?

Be socially responsible

95% of Americans are in favor of being a donor but only 58% are registered.
Help bridge the gap by sharing.