希望的故事

林恩和特德,活体捐献者和受捐者

表兄妹髋关节相连
肾脏活体捐献者琳恩和她的表兄特德一直关系很好。他们是嫡亲表兄弟,住在同一条街上。当泰德需要肾移植时,他们要分享的远不止亲戚和邻居。

三十多岁时,泰德接受了父亲的第一次肾移植手术,作为一个有两个孩子的已婚父亲,他在马里兰州蒙哥马利县警察局担任警探,工作十分活跃,生活十分惬意。

由于多年来的并发症导致泰德的肾脏开始衰竭,他发现自己无法做很多以前能做的事情。儿子即将毕业,活泼好动的女儿正在上高中,泰德的健康状况常常让他束手无策。虽然白天还能坚持工作,但晚上却要忙于透析治疗。

2015 年,泰德的病情恶化。为了挽救他的生命,需要进行第二次肾移植。他的家人开始寻找活体捐献者,其中包括他 44 岁的表妹琳恩。

"林恩说:"我结婚 31 年的丈夫患有肾病,所以这个决定是我需要祈祷的,因为我不确定是否应该为我的表弟做检查,还是等我丈夫需要肾脏时再做检查。"我丈夫的情况好多了,从未做过透析,也不需要肾脏。上帝给了我祈祷的正确答案。

随着移植日期的临近,林恩巧妙地给自己的肾取了个绰号 "麦克斯韦",希望移植手术能帮助泰德恢复到最佳状态。

2015 年 6 月 23 日,琳告别了麦克斯韦,"他 "从她身边来到了特德身边,开始了救命之旅。三天后,琳恩出院回家。泰德和他的新肾脏麦克斯韦在一周内出院。

友情提示
琳和泰德都已从手术中完全康复。最近,琳恩和她的家人参加了 2021 年 10 月 22 日播出的电视游戏节目《Family Feud》。

当节目主持人史蒂夫-哈维(Steve Harvey)向她打招呼时,琳恩很高兴能有机会在全国电视上讲述她作为活体捐献者的亲身经历,并宣传器官捐献的必要性。

麦克斯韦很好
移植后,泰德报告说他和麦克斯韦都很好。特德已经从警察局退休,现在在当地学校系统工作。琳恩每周定期跑步 20 英里,甚至完成了她的第一个马拉松比赛。

"林恩说:"泰德的家人在家庭聚会上总是说'谢谢',而我只是说不用谢我,我这样做是因为爱和希望。"这是我做过的最好(也是最简单)的决定。如果可以,我愿意做 1000 次。

Stories of Hope

See how organ, eye and tissue donation has healed lives.

Lynn & Ted, living donor & recipient

Cousins joined near the hip
Living kidney donor Lynn, and her cousin, Ted, have always been close. They are first cousins and live on the same street. When Ted needed a kidney transplant, they would come to share far more than relatives and a neighborhood.

In his thirties, Ted received his first kidney transplant from his father and was enjoying life as a married father of two with an active career as a Detective with the Montgomery County Police Department in Maryland.

As complications over the years caused Ted’s kidney to begin failing, he found he wasn’t able to do many of the things he used to. With a son about to graduate and an active daughter in high school, Ted’s health often kept him on the sidelines. While still able to maintain his role at work during the day, his evenings were consumed with dialysis treatments.

In 2015, Ted’s situation worsened. A second kidney transplant was needed to save his life. The search for a living donor began among his family, including his 44-year old cousin, Lynn.

“My husband of 31 years has kidney disease, so this decision was something I needed to pray about because I wasn’t sure if I should get tested for my cousin or wait in case my husband needed a kidney,” says Lynn. “My husband is doing much better, never had to go on dialysis and never needed a kidney. God provided the right answer to my prayer.”

As the date of the transplant approached, Lynn cleverly nicknamed her kidney “Maxwell” in hopes the transplant would help return Ted to maximum wellness.

On June 23, 2015, Lynn bid farewell to Maxwell as “he” made a lifesaving journey from her to Ted. Three days later, Lynn came home from the hospital. Ted and his new kidney, Maxwell, were released within a week.

Friendly Family Feud
Both Lynn and Ted have recovered fully from their surgeries. Recently, Lynn and her family appeared on an episode of the TV game show Family Feud which aired on October 22, 2021.

When show host Steve Harvey greeted her, Lynn was delighted for the opportunity to talk on national TV about her personal experience as a living donor and promote awareness of the need for organ donation.

Maxwell is Well
Since the transplant, Ted reports that he and Maxwell are both indeed well. Ted has retired from the Police Department and now works with the local school system. Lynn regularly runs 20 miles a week and has even completed her first marathon.

“Ted’s family is always saying ‘thank you’ at family gatherings, and I just say there’s no need to thank me, I did it because of love and hope,” Lynn says. “It was the best (and easiest) decision I’ve ever made. I would do it 1,000 times if I could.”

Registration takes less than a minute.

Still have questions?

Share the #DonateLife Message

You can help save and heal lives by registering to be an organ, eye and tissue donor.
 Share your decision with your community!