希望的故事

丽塔,肝脏受体

NMDS 丽塔-马修斯(Lita Matthews)博士--活体肝脏受体--女性--本地人,普韦布洛人

丽塔一直为自己的传统感到自豪,她一生中的大部分时间都在参与美国原住民文化。她是新墨西哥州最大的活动之一 "民族集会"(Gathering of Nations Pow Wow)的共同创始人。

2008 年,就在第 25 届 "万国聚会 "开始前三天,丽塔被紧急送往阿尔伯克基一家医院。在那里,她被诊断出患有肝硬化,这是她 30 多年前输血的结果。丽塔对治疗反应良好,她认为这与她每天的锻炼计划和在许多powwows上的竞技舞蹈有直接关系。

不幸的是,两年后,丽塔被告知她的肝脏已经发生癌变。肝脏移植是她生存的唯一机会;丽塔被列入了全国移植等待名单。在等待期间,丽塔决定在她的美国原住民社区内公开她的故事。除了向其他人宣传器官、眼睛和组织捐献的知识外,她的故事还激励了一些人自愿捐献自己的部分肝脏,帮助挽救她的生命。

仅仅过了几个月,在 2010 年 "万国聚会 "开始时,丽塔和她的家人接到了一个电话,通知他们其中一位潜在的活体捐献者与他们匹配。同年 5 月,她接受了由活体捐献者--她的老朋友贝弗利--提供的肝脏移植手术,挽救了她的生命。

移植后,丽塔能够继续用美妙的音乐、powwows、舞蹈和 "万国聚会 "来充实自己的生活。她鼓励每个人都考虑加入捐赠者行列。"如果不是一位伟大的好心人慷慨地与我分享她的肝脏,我可能活不到今天。丽塔说。"成为一名捐献者有助于保持生命的循环,让生命的庆典继续下去"。

Stories of Hope

See how organ, eye and tissue donation has healed lives.

Lita, liver recipient

Lita has always been proud of her heritage and has spent the majority of her life involved in Native American culture. She is co-founder of one of the largest events held in New Mexico, the Gathering of Nations Pow Wow.

In 2008, just three days before the start of the 25th annual Gathering of Nations, Lita was rushed to an Albuquerque hospital. There she was diagnosed with cirrhosis of the liver, the result of a blood transfusion she had received more than 30 years prior. Lita responded well to treatment, which she believes is a direct result of her daily exercise program and competitive dancing at many powwows.

Unfortunately, two years later, Lita was told that cancer had developed in her liver. A liver transplant was her only chance for survival; and Lita was placed on the national transplant waiting list. While she waited, Lita decided to make her story public within her Native American community. In addition to educating others about organ, eye and tissue donation, it inspired several people to volunteer to donate a part of their livers to help save her life.

After just a few months, at the start of the 2010 Gathering of Nations, Lita and her family received a call informing them that one of the potential living donors was a match. That May, she received her lifesaving liver transplant from a living donor, her long-time friend Beverly.

With the transplant, Lita has been able to continue to fill her life with good music, powwows, dancing and the Gathering of Nations. She encourages everyone to consider signing up to be a donor. “If it was not for the generosity of a great and wonderful individual who shared her liver with me, I may not be alive today.” Lita says. “Becoming a donor helps keep the circle unbroken and the celebration of life going.”

 

Registration takes less than a minute.

Still have questions?

Be socially responsible

95% of Americans are in favor of being a donor but only 58% are registered.
Help bridge the gap by sharing.