希望的故事

朱利安,肾脏接受者

活体捐赠者的救生礼物

肾脏受捐者朱利安童年的大部分时间都在医院里度过,因为他患有一种罕见的疾病,肺部和肾脏的血流量受到限制。朱利安不畏艰难,终于长大成人,正准备与妻子和年幼的儿子一起庆祝圣诞节时,他却病入膏肓,再次住进了医院。他得知自己患上了终末期肾病(ESRD),在接下来的两年里,朱利安每天都要接受艰苦的透析治疗。他错过了与家人团聚的宝贵时间,还被迫离职。肾移植是他唯一的机会。

朱利安的姐姐安娜也想伸出援手,检查结果显示她与活体捐献完全匹配。两个月后,31 岁的朱利安接受了新的肾脏。他几乎立刻感觉好多了,无论是作为肾脏接受者的朱利安还是作为活体捐献者的安娜,恢复过程都很顺利。几周后,朱利安已经开始了以前不可能实现的积极生活方式,而安娜也恢复了急救员的工作。

肾移植后的生活

朱利安变得更强壮、更健康,也摆脱了透析的折磨,重新回到了汽车技师的工作岗位上。他喜欢做以前无法做到的简单事情,比如想喝多少水就喝多少水。最重要的是,他现在成为了他一直想成为的尽职尽责的丈夫和父亲。朱利安把与爱人共度时光作为首要任务,珍惜他们在一起的每一刻。作为一名肾脏受捐者,朱利安不会纠结于琐碎的事情--他知道生命太宝贵、太短暂,不能只顾自己快乐。

朱利安一直钦佩安娜的博大胸怀,但最终是她的肾脏救了他。他们的活体捐献之旅加强了他们之间的联系,朱利安将永远感谢姐姐送给他的生命礼物。

Stories of Hope

See how organ, eye and tissue donation has healed lives.

Julian, kidney recipient

Lifesaving gift of a living donor

Kidney recipient Julian spent much of his childhood in and out of the hospital due to having a rare disease that limited blood flow to his lungs and kidneys. Defying the odds, Julian reached adulthood and was getting ready to celebrate Christmas with his wife and infant son when he became very ill and wound up in the hospital once again. He learned that he had end-stage renal disease (ESRD) and for the next two years, Julian endured a grueling daily dialysis regimen. He missed out on precious time with his family and was forced to leave his job. A kidney transplant was his only chance.

Julian’s sister, Ana, wanted to help, and testing brought the good news that she was a perfect match for living donation. Two months later, at the age of 31, Julian received his new kidney. He felt better almost immediately, and the recovery process was smooth for both Julian as the kidney recipient, and for Ana as his living donor. A few weeks later, Julian was already beginning to live the active lifestyle that had previously been impossible, and Ana was back to work as an EMT.

 

Life after kidney transplant

Stronger, healthier and free from dialysis, Julian has returned to his job as an auto technician. He enjoys the simple things that he could not do before, like drinking as much water as he wants. Most importantly, he is now the involved husband and father he always wanted to be. Julian makes it a priority to spend time with his loved ones, cherishing every moment they have together. As a kidney recipient, Julian does not dwell on petty things — he knows that life is too precious and too short not to focus on being happy.

Julian had always admired Ana’s big heart, but ultimately, it was her kidney that saved him. Their living donation journey has strengthened their bond, and Julian will be forever grateful for the gift of life he received from his sister.

Registration takes less than a minute.

Still have questions?

Be socially responsible

95% of Americans are in favor of being a donor but only 58% are registered.
Help bridge the gap by sharing.