希望的故事

珍妮弗,角膜接受者

珍妮弗

詹妮弗是两个女儿卡兹明(12 岁)和布雷亚(10 岁)的母亲,2013 年丈夫因癌症去世。作为单亲家庭,詹妮弗的生活十分混乱。她既要从事护理工作,又要全职攻读硕士学位,还要支持女儿们参加各种课外活动。两年来,詹妮弗努力工作,使一切都顺利进行,直到一次严重的健康恐慌给她带来了挑战,这几乎危及到她为家人实现幸福生活所做的最大努力。

2015 年 10 月,詹妮弗在工作时右眼出现一些红肿。在接下来的 36 个小时里,情况不断恶化,最后不得不去看急诊。医生建议詹妮弗第二天到眼科医生处复诊,他们认为这只是角膜擦伤。然而,当她回到家时,她的眼睛已经看不清东西了,一层浑浊的薄膜覆盖了整个瞳孔。

眼科医生诊断詹妮弗患上了侵袭性极强的严重感染,感染正向视网膜回流。她的角膜上有大面积溃疡,需要进行角膜移植手术。如果不进行角膜移植,珍妮弗的右眼将永久失明。

在接下来的几个月里,詹妮弗接受了多位专家的会诊,并一直用眼罩遮住眼睛,等待感染痊愈和眼睛从创伤中恢复,以便进行手术。詹妮弗的深度知觉发生了改变,周边视力也消失了。由于戴着眼罩,她感到很自卑,又害怕接触到细菌,因此在公共场合出门时非常焦虑。不过,由于詹妮弗不能请太多的假,她还是继续着紧张的工作和学习。她的一位好友偶尔会从外地来探望她,以提供帮助,但詹妮弗仍然很难维持正常的生活。

初次感染六个月后,珍妮弗的医生确定她的眼部情况稳定;她的角膜移植手术于 4 月 26 日进行。令詹妮弗惊喜的是,她几乎没有感到任何不适,一周后就可以重返工作岗位。

移植手术后一年多,珍妮弗的视力有了很大的改善,她完全能够享受患病前的所有生活:烹饪、摄影以及成为女儿们最忠实的粉丝。"珍妮弗说:"我能够接受高等教育并获得高级护理学位,就是因为我的视力恢复了。珍妮弗说,"由于我恢复了健康和自信,我每天都在努力成为我的宝贝女儿们心目中最好的母亲。我的感激之情无以言表。

Stories of Hope

See how organ, eye and tissue donation has healed lives.

Jennifer, cornea recipient

Jennifer, a mother to two daughters, Cazmyn (12) and Breya (10), lost her husband to cancer in 2013. Life was chaotic for Jennifer as a single parent. She had a nursing job and was pursuing a master’s degree full time, all while also supporting her daughters’ participation in their many extra-circular activities. For two years, Jennifer worked hard to keep things running smoothly, until a serious health scare posed a challenge that nearly jeopardized her best efforts to achieve a happy life for her family.

Jennifer

In October 2015, Jennifer developed some redness in her right eye while at work. Over the next 36 hours, it worsened and resulted in a trip to the emergency room. Jennifer left with a recommendation that she follow up with an ophthalmologist the next day for what they believed was just an abrasion to her cornea. By the time she had returned home, though, she could no longer see from her eye and a cloudy film covered the entire pupil.

An ophthalmologist diagnosed Jennifer with a very aggressive, severe infection that was traveling back towards the retina. She had an extensive ulcer on her cornea and would require a corneal transplant. Without it, Jennifer’s right eye would be permanently blind.

During the following months, Jennifer was seen by several specialists and kept her eye covered with a patch as they waited for the infection to clear and her eye to recover from the trauma so the surgery could be performed. Jennifer’s depth of perception was altered, and her peripheral vision was gone. Self-conscious about her eye patch and afraid of exposure to bacteria, she suffered a lot of anxiety when going out in public. However, because Jennifer could not to take much time off, she continued her rigorous work and school schedule. A close friend was able to occasionally visit from out of town to help, but it was still a struggle for Jennifer to maintain a normal life.

Six months after the initial infection, Jennifer’s doctor determined that her eye was stable; her corneal transplant took place on April 26. Jennifer was pleasantly surprised to experience very little discomfort and was able to return to work just one week later.

Now over one year post-transplant, Jennifer’s vision has greatly improved, and she is fully able to enjoy all of the things she did prior to the illness: cooking, photography and being her daughters’ biggest fan. “I am able to pursue higher education and advanced nursing degrees due to the fact that I am able to see,” says Jennifer. “Since I am healthy and have regained my confidence, I am striving daily to be the best mother I can be to my precious daughters. My gratitude is immeasurable.”

Registration takes less than a minute.

Still have questions?

Be socially responsible

95% of Americans are in favor of being a donor but only 58% are registered.
Help bridge the gap by sharing.