希望的故事

亨特,肝脏受体

亨特的肝移植之旅

亨特原本有成为一名医生的宏伟计划,但囊性纤维化引起的并发症让他成为了一名需要新肝脏的病人。一位捐赠者的捐赠为他提供了就读医学院所需的机会,挽救了亨特的生命,并最终使他能够作为未来的医生拯救和治愈他人的生命。

亨特三岁时被诊断出患有囊性纤维化,这是一种影响肺部、消化系统和生殖器官的遗传疾病,在出现更严重的警告信号之前,亨特的童年相对健康活泼。囊性纤维化会产生粘稠的粘液,堵塞任何可能堵塞的东西。在亨特的病例中,囊性纤维化导致肝功能衰竭,年仅13岁的他唯一的希望就是换一个肝脏。

亨特被列入全国移植等待名单。在等待的过程中,他经历了高潮(打棒球、高中毕业和获得本科学位)和低谷(长期住院和无休止的手术),他努力不让日益衰退的健康状况阻碍他尽情挥洒青春。经过漫长的等待,亨特的运气终于在圣帕特里克节那天改变了,他从一位慷慨的捐赠者那里得到了新的肝脏,挽救了他的生命。

如今,亨特感觉比以往任何时候都健康,并重新走上了追求职业梦想的道路。他已经获得了生物医学硕士学位,即将开始医学院三年级的学习。亨特希望成为一名急诊医生,这样他就可以回报社会。学习之余,他经常与家人、朋友、女朋友和他的迷你腊肠犬在一起。亨特每天都会想起他的捐赠者,并对他们的帮助深表感激。

"亨特说:"多年来,我的家人对我的爱和支持意味着一切,而我的捐赠者的无私捐赠不仅仅是帮助了我。"我的捐赠者帮助了我一生中将要面对的每一位病人。

Stories of Hope

See how organ, eye and tissue donation has healed lives.

Hunter, liver recipient

Hunter’s Liver Transplant Journey

Hunter had big plans to become a doctor, but complications from his cystic fibrosis left him as a patient in need of a new liver. A donor’s gift gave him the chance he needed to attend medical school, saving Hunter’s life — and ultimately enabling him to save and heal the lives of others as a future physician.

Diagnosed with cystic fibrosis, a genetic condition affecting the lungs, digestive system and reproductive organs, at age three, Hunter had a relatively healthy and active childhood before more serious warning signs presented. Cystic fibrosis produces thick and sticky mucus that clogs up anything it can. In Hunter’s case, it was causing liver failure and, at just 13 years old, a new liver was his only hope.

Hunter was placed on the national transplant waiting list. As he waited, he experienced a mix of highs (playing baseball, graduating from high school and receiving his undergraduate degree) and lows (extended hospital stays and endless procedures) as he tried not to let his declining health prevent him from making the most of his youth. After a long wait, Hunter’s luck finally changed on St. Patrick’s Day when he received the new liver from a generous donor that saved his life.

Today, Hunter feels healthier than ever and is back on track pursuing his career dreams. He has obtained his master’s degree in biomedical sciences, and he is about to begin his third year of medical school. Hunter hopes to become an emergency physician so he can give back. When he is not studying, he can be found spending time with family, friends, his girlfriend and his miniature dachshund. Hunter thinks about his donor every day and feels tremendous gratitude for making it all possible.

“My family’s love and support has meant everything over the years, and my donor’s selfless gift did much more than just help me,” said Hunter. “My donor is helping every patient I will ever see in my lifetime.”

Registration takes less than a minute.

Still have questions?

Be socially responsible

95% of Americans are in favor of being a donor but only 58% are registered.
Help bridge the gap by sharing.