希望的故事

克里斯托弗,心脏接受者

心脏捐献者克里斯托弗-回声

克里斯托弗是一个健康快乐的婴儿,直到他 15 个月大时开始出现呼吸道问题。起初,克里斯托弗似乎患上了哮喘或支气管炎;然而,几次就诊后,医生做出了更为严重的诊断:克里斯托弗患有限制性心肌病。他的心脏扩大,无法正常工作。如果不进行心脏移植,克里斯托弗只能活 12 个月。

当克里斯托弗的父母试图处理这个令人心碎的消息时,他们发现为克里斯托弗寻找一个新的心脏对他们来说并不是一个容易做出的决定。他们痛苦地意识到,要想让克里斯托弗获得新的心脏,就必须让别人的孩子死去并成为捐献者。最终,他们决定在 2008 年 1 月将克里斯托弗列入全国移植候选名单。

此后,克里斯托弗的病情迅速恶化,他只能等待。他先后三次被送进医院;到 2008 年 4 月,克里斯托弗的病情已经严重到医生都认为他撑不下去了。令人惊讶的是,他坚持了下来,但他的家人却充满了无尽的担忧。

克里斯托弗的母亲阿尔玛说:"感觉就像我们在面对一颗定时炸弹"。"我们感到完全无能为力,拼命不让自己失去希望"。

克里斯托弗被列入移植名单近五个月后,阿尔玛正在厨房水槽里给他洗澡,这时他们接到电话,有人捐献了一颗匹配的心脏。2008 年 5 月 27 日,克里斯托弗得到了他的新心脏。

他的健康状况几乎在一夜之间得到明显改善。手术前,克里斯托弗的发育落后。他不仅还不会走路或爬行,甚至无法自己坐起来,整天只能坐在汽车座椅上。移植后仅两周,克里斯托弗就准备好迈出他的第一步。但他不是走,而是--直奔游乐场的秋千。

今天,你永远不会知道克里斯托弗曾经生过病。他精力充沛,生活充实而健康。他总是不断尝试新事物,喜欢跳舞、踢足球,还和两个哥哥一起学跆拳道。克里斯托弗向任何愿意倾听的人侃侃而谈他的心脏移植手术,他还积极在社区做志愿者,宣传器官、眼睛和组织捐献登记。

"阿尔玛说:"因为克里斯托弗捐赠者的礼物,我得到了克里斯托弗多年的拥抱和亲吻,如果不是这样,我是不会得到这些的。为此,我将永远心存感激。

Stories of Hope

See how organ, eye and tissue donation has healed lives.

Christopher, heart recipient

Christopher was a healthy, happy baby until he began experiencing respiratory issues at 15 months old. Initially, it appeared that Christopher had asthma or bronchitis; however, several doctor visits resulted in a much more serious diagnosis: Christopher had restrictive cardiomyopathy. His heart was enlarged and unable to function properly. Without a heart transplant, Christopher would have only 12 months to live.

christopherecho

As Christopher’s parents attempted to process this heartbreaking news, they found that the decision to seek a new heart for Christopher was not an easy one for them to make. They struggled with the knowledge that for Christopher to get a new heart, someone else’s child would have to die and be a donor. They ultimately made the decision to put him on the national transplant waiting list in January 2008.

After that, there was nothing left to do but wait while Christopher’s condition rapidly worsened. He was admitted to the hospital on three different occasions; and by April 2008, Christopher had become so ill that doctors did not think that he would make it. Amazingly, he hung on, but his family was filled with endless worry.

“It felt like it was us against a time bomb,” says Christopher’s mother, Alma. “We felt completely powerless and tried desperately not to lose hope.”

Nearly five months after Christopher had been listed for a transplant, Alma was giving him a bath in the kitchen sink when they got the call that a matching heart had been donated. On May 27, 2008, Christopher got his new heart.

The improvement to his health was apparent almost overnight. Prior to the surgery, Christopher was behind developmentally. Not only was he not yet walking or crawling, he could not even sit up on his own and spent his days propped up in a car seat. Just two weeks post-transplant, Christopher was ready to take his first steps. But he did not walk, he ran — straight to the swings at the playground.

Today, you would never know that Christopher had ever been sick. He has an endless supply of energy and is living a full and healthy life. He is always trying new things and loves dancing, playing soccer and taking taekwondo with his two older brothers. Christopher speaks freely about his heart transplant to anyone who will listen, and he actively volunteers within his community to promote registering as an organ, eye and tissue donor.

“Because of his donor’s gift,” says Alma, “I have years of hugs and kisses from Christopher that I would not have had otherwise. For that, I will be forever grateful.”

Registration takes less than a minute.

Still have questions?

Be socially responsible

95% of Americans are in favor of being a donor but only 58% are registered.
Help bridge the gap by sharing.