希望的故事

布鲁斯,肾脏接受者

布鲁斯

布鲁斯是明尼苏达州一所私立大学的首席多元化官和高级官员,他一直非常热爱生活。20 岁出头时,他对生活的热爱还包括食物,因此布鲁斯的体重明显增加。到 40 岁时,布鲁斯的体重达到了 400 磅。布鲁斯准备扭转局面,于是他采取了一些措施,拥抱更健康的生活方式,体重减轻了近 200 磅。不幸的是,布鲁斯的转变来得不够快。

就在达到目标体重的五年后,布鲁斯发现自己处于肾衰竭晚期。他不得不开始接受严格的透析治疗,两年后,他感到绝望了。肾移植是唯一的解决办法。布鲁斯决心为他的三个孩子活下去,于是他开始寻找活体捐献者。

在他的大家庭和他参加的许多团体中,布鲁斯确信很快就会有人站出来成为他所需要的活体肾脏捐献者。令他惊讶的是,事情并没有像他计划的那样发展。在与非裔美国人社区的人们交谈时,他发现由于缺乏有关器官捐献的信息,人们对这个话题产生了恐惧。布鲁斯意识到,影响器官功能的健康问题往往会对有色人种造成极大的影响,因此,为了所有有一天可能需要器官移植的人,他觉得有必要开始推广有关捐赠的教育。

由于没有新的肾脏,布鲁斯一直靠透析维持生命,而且看不到尽头。他不知道的是,他当时工作的大学校长吉姆听说了布鲁斯的情况,并悄悄去做了检查,看看自己能否成为布鲁斯的活体捐献者。

布鲁斯清楚地记得,五月一个美丽的星期五下午,他被困在透析中心里,突然接到一个电话。电话是吉姆打来的,他带来了一个好消息:他和布鲁斯非常匹配,想把自己的一个肾脏捐给他。布鲁斯欣然接受了吉姆的提议,他的故事有了一个圆满的结局--但这并不是他预想的结局。

"布鲁斯说:"和很多人一样,我以为非裔美国人只能向非裔美国人捐款,你的最终匹配对象只能是和你长得一样、和你拥有相同种族文化遗产的人。

虽然临床研究表明,同一民族和种族成员之间的器官配对往往能提高移植手术的成功率,但布鲁斯的情况并非如此。"事实证明,与我匹配的是一位来自南达科他州的年长白人男子,他非常慷慨地捐献了自己的一个肾脏,挽救了我的生命"。

布鲁斯接受肾脏移植已经八年了,肾脏恢复了他的健康,使他能够恢复正常生活。他每天都对捐献者的礼物心存感激,并继续在社区内宣传捐献知识。

"布鲁斯说:"器官捐献是普通人成为非凡之人的一种方式"。

Stories of Hope

See how organ, eye and tissue donation has healed lives.

Bruce, kidney recipient

Bruce, chief diversity officer and senior officer at a private college in Minnesota, has always had a great love of life. In his early 20s, that great love also included food and Bruce gained a significant amount of weight as a result. By the time he reached the age of 40, Bruce weighed 400 pounds. Ready to turn things around, Bruce took steps to embrace a healthier lifestyle and lost almost 200 pounds. Unfortunately, Bruce’s change for the better did not come soon enough.

Bruce

Just five years after achieving his target weight, Bruce found himself in end-stage renal failure. He had to begin a rigorous dialysis routine that, after two years, left him feeling hopeless. A kidney transplant was the only answer. Determined to live for his three children, Bruce began his quest to find a living donor.

Between his big family and the many groups he belonged to, Bruce was sure that someone would quickly step up to be the living kidney donor that he needed. He was surprised when it did not go quite the way he had planned. In talking to people in the African American community, he found that a lack of information about organ donation was creating fear about the topic. Aware that health issues affecting organ function often disproportionately impact people of color, Bruce felt compelled to start promoting education about donation for the sake of all those who might need an organ transplant some day.

Without a new kidney, Bruce remained dependent on dialysis with no end in sight. Unbeknownst to him, Jim, the president of the university where he was working at the time, had heard about Bruce’s situation and quietly went to get tested to see if he could be Bruce’s living donor.

Bruce vividly recalls being stuck inside a dialysis center on a beautiful Friday afternoon in May when he got an unexpected phone call. It was Jim, and he had good news: he was a prefect match for Bruce and wanted to give him one of his kidneys. Bruce graciously accepted Jim’s offer, and his story had a happy ending — but it wasn’t the ending he had predicted.

“Like a lot of people, I thought that African Americans could only donate to African Americans and that your ultimate match could only come from someone who looks like you and has the same ethnic cultural heritage that you do,” says Bruce.

While clinical research has shown that successful transplantation often is enhanced by the matching of organs between members of the same ethnic and racial group, this wasn’t the case for Bruce. “It turns out that my match was an older white man from South Dakota, and he very generously donated one of his kidneys and saved my life.”

It has been eight years since Bruce received the kidney that restored his health and enabled him to resume normal living. He is grateful for his donor’s gift every day, and he continues to spread the word about donation within his community.

“Organ donation,” says Bruce, “is one way that ordinary people can become extraordinary people.”

Registration takes less than a minute.

Still have questions?

Be socially responsible

95% of Americans are in favor of being a donor but only 58% are registered.
Help bridge the gap by sharing.