希望的故事

阿普尔瓦,多器官受体

阿普尔瓦的多器官移植之旅

三器官受捐者阿普尔瓦的职业生涯致力于全球发展事业,为世界各地的社会服务组织提供支持。工作之余,他喜欢旅游、烹饪、阅读,与家人和朋友共度美好时光。当阿普尔瓦开始感到极度疲惫和体重增加时,他向医生寻求指导,结果令人震惊:他的三个重要器官处于危急状态,以至于需要进行心脏、肝脏和肾脏移植才能挽救他的生命。

阿普尔瓦以前身体健康,但当他被诊断出患有肝硬化和肝癌时,他的心脏已经病入膏肓。不久后,他又得知自己的肾脏也受损了。由于心脏功能衰弱,单独的移植并不可行。多器官移植是阿普尔瓦唯一的希望,于是他前往远方一家专门从事复杂手术的医院接受治疗。在那里度过了将近 110 天后,一位器官捐献者为阿普尔瓦提供了新的心脏、肝脏和肾脏,有了这些器官,阿普尔瓦重获新生。

心脏、肝脏和肾脏受体的生活

术后一个多月,阿普尔瓦离开了医院。如今,他再次感受到了健康和活力,并且已经能够重返工作岗位。最重要的是,阿普尔瓦很高兴能再次与家人团聚,他非常珍惜与妻子在一起的时光,也非常珍惜能有机会见证两个儿子成长为优秀青年的喜悦。阿普尔瓦对在器官移植过程中照顾他的每一步的医护人员深表感激,他也对挽救他生命的器官捐献者和捐献者家庭深表敬意,并将永远心存感激。

"阿普尔瓦说:"登记成为器官、眼球和组织捐献者是延续和治愈他人生命的绝佳方式。"我认为这往往是一个人所能给予的最后一种慈善和服务。无论是活体捐献者还是已故捐献者,这都是一种深刻的慷慨行为。我永远无法用言语表达我对我的捐献者和捐献者家人的感激之情,是他们在悲剧中让我的家人能够拥有更多的相聚时光。

Stories of Hope

See how organ, eye and tissue donation has healed lives.

Apurva, multi-organ recipient

Apurva’s multi-organ transplant journey

Triple-organ recipient Apurva has dedicated his career to global development endeavors in support of social service organizations around the world. Outside of work, you’ll find him traveling, cooking, reading and spending quality time with family and friends. When Apurva began experiencing extreme exhaustion and weight gain, he sought medical guidance with shocking results: three of his vital organs were in critical condition — so critical that a heart, liver and kidney transplant was needed to save his life.

Previously in good health, Apurva had initially been trying to process the devastating news that his heart was very sick when he was also diagnosed with cirrhosis and liver cancer. Soon after, he learned that his kidneys were damaged as well. Stand-alone transplants were not an option due to his weakened heart. A multi-organ transplant was Apurva’s only hope, and he traveled to a distant hospital specializing in the complex surgery for treatment. After spending nearly 110 days there, an organ donor made it possible for Apurva to receive his new heart, liver and kidney — and with those organs — a new lease on life.

Life as a heart, liver and kidney recipient

After a few initial bumps on his road to recovery, Apurva left the hospital just over a month after the surgery, and he has never looked back. Today, he is feeling healthy and energized once again, and he has been able return to work. Most importantly, Apurva is happy to be home with his family again, treasuring time with his wife, and the opportunity for them to experience the joy of watching their two sons grow into wonderful young men. Apurva has deep gratitude for the healthcare providers that looked after him during every step of his organ transplant journey, and he is also profoundly awed by — and will be forever grateful to — the organ donor and donor family that saved his life.

“Registering as an organ, eye and tissue donor is an amazing way to extend and heal the life of another person,” said Apurva. “I think it is often the last gesture of charity and service one can give. Whether as a living donor or deceased donor, it is a profound act of generosity. I will never be able to put into words the appreciation I feel for my donor and donor family who, amidst their tragedy, made it possible for my family to have more years together.”

Registration takes less than a minute.

Still have questions?

Share the #DonateLife Message

You can help save and heal lives by registering to be an organ, eye and tissue donor.
 Share your decision with your community!