希望的故事

已故捐赠者安雅和捐赠者母亲凯亚

安雅的眼球和组织捐献之旅

安雅性格外向,她把遇到的每个人都视为朋友。作为一名天生的运动员,她擅长任何运动,尤其是单板滑雪。作为三个姐妹中的中间孩子,善于交际的安雅通常是家人和朋友眼中的焦点。作为一名时尚感十足的高中生,她曾计划毕业后去纽约学习时尚。不幸的是,就在她18岁生日之后,安雅自杀身亡,让她的家人伤心欲绝、悲痛欲绝。

安雅的妈妈凯亚(Kaija)悲痛欲绝,她无法接受自己曾经为安雅设想的美好未来将无法实现。后来,她收到了一个消息,在这个非常黑暗的时刻带来了一丝希望:安雅已经登记成为一名器官、眼球和组织捐献者。在难以忍受的痛苦中,凯亚和她的家人找到了一种安宁感,因为他们知道虽然安雅走了,但她会帮助许多需要帮助的人。

捐赠后的生活

通过眼角膜捐献,安雅让两个人重见光明,她捐献的组织通过皮肤移植治愈了两名年轻的烧伤患者。安雅捐献的骨骼和组织还帮助了另外 83 人。对于凯亚(Kaija)来说,女儿成为捐献者后,她才完全明白角膜和组织捐献是多么大的恩惠。最终,安雅最后的礼物不仅治愈了受捐者的生命,还帮助她的家人应对悲痛,开始自己的疗伤之旅。

"请注册成为捐赠者,"凯亚说。"您捐献的是一份如此神奇的礼物,有可能造福许多人。我美丽的女儿通过她的捐赠,帮助 87 人过上了更好的生活。

Stories of Hope

See how organ, eye and tissue donation has healed lives.

Anya, deceased donor, and Kaija, donor mom

Anya’s eye and tissue donation journey

Anya was outgoing and considered everyone she met to be a friend. A natural athlete, she excelled at any sport that she tried, especially snowboarding. The middle child of three sisters, sociable Anya was usually the center of attention among her family and friends. As a high school senior with a great sense of style, she had big plans to move to New York City and study fashion after graduation. Sadly, just after her 18th birthday, Anya died by suicide, leaving her family heartbroken and grieving.

Anya’s mom, Kaija, was devastated and trying to grasp that the bright future she had once envisioned for Anya would not come to be. Then, she received news that brought a small ray of hope in the midst of a very dark time: Anya had registered to be an organ, eye and tissue donor. In the midst of unbearable pain, Kaija and her family found a sense of peace knowing that although Anya was gone, she would help many others in need.

Life after donation

Through cornea donation, Anya was able to give sight to two people, and her donated tissue healed two young burn victims through skin grafts. An additional 83 others were helped by Anya’s bone and tissue donation. For Kaija, it took her daughter becoming a donor to fully grasp what a blessing cornea and tissue donation truly is. Ultimately, Anya’s final gifts did more than heal the lives of her recipients, they helped her family cope with their grief and begin their own healing.

“Please register as a donor,” Kaija said. “You are giving such an amazing gift with the potential to benefit so many. My beautiful girl helped 87 people to live better lives with her donation.”

Registration takes less than a minute.

Still have questions?

Be socially responsible

95% of Americans are in favor of being a donor but only 58% are registered.
Help bridge the gap by sharing.